Outfits

Hammer time

Top: Madewell; Pants: American Apparel; Shoes: Steve Madden; bracelet + necklace: Jewelmint

Harem pants, balloon pants, parachute pants, popper pants, Turkish trousers, Aladdin pants. Whatever you may call them, these pants are certainly not lacking for a nickname but are lacking for a way to style them. Without, you know, looking as though one stepped out of a hardcore break-dancing session from the 1980s… or out of a certain Disney movie from the 90s. Harem pants experienced a fashion revival a few seasons back, and became especially popular amongst the style blogger community.  However, they now seem to be headed back to their previous level of popularity, which is to say, completely unpopular and out-of-date yet again, just in time for me to try said trend.

Originally I picked these up at American Apparel hoping for more of a chic trouser-in-an-alternative-fabric effect, but then my sister pointed out that they look exactly like MC Hammer’s pants circa 1990, and unfortunately the resemblance could not be unseen.  Alas and alack, they were final sale, and so ultimately I kept them, because, well, I had to.  And also to settle a score with my sister, who said upon leaving the store, “I’m interested to see how you’ll wear these so that you don’t end up looking like MC Hammer.”  She may not have meant it as a challenge, but I took it as one.  So, how’d I do Hayley?  Pretty good, eh?  Maybe it helps that I’m not dancing.  After wearing these however, I will concede that they are definitely the most comfortable pants I own, which likely speaks to the caliber of my pants collection.

And then I added a leather jacket, because as I always say, it ain’t an outfit until you’ve offended at least two animals.

Standard

One thought on “Hammer time

  1. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

