Outfits

Dressing for High Altitudes

Shirt: Gap; Jeans: Madewell; Shoes: Shoemint

Oh, hi there. No, I haven’t forgotten about this blog, or you, but I have been embarking on a few journeys of epic proportions. Epic, as in climbing the tallest mountain in Maine, which really turned out to be more like rock climbing at a 90 degree angle up the tallest mountain in Maine, and although four days later the feeling hasn’t returned to my legs yet and I’m beginning to worry, it was totally worth it.

The second journey included moving down the East Coast, like, all the way down, from Maine to Florida. And while technically I’m here now, the move-in date for the apartment isn’t for another week, which means that I’m living out of suitcases and cardboard boxes until then.  This means that outfit planning has been limited to whatever happens to have surfaced on top so as to avoid repacking, and sartorially I’m beginning to feel a little boxed in.  Ba-da-baa. Anyone? Anyone? Cricket, cricket. Thus far this has resulted in wearing the above-pictured outfit for the second day in a row, which I originally wore for the plane ride, hence the title, cue the applause.

A note on the shoes, also known as the make-it-or-break-it aspect of any outfit: These are the Esther shoes from Shoemint in Leopard Pony.  If there’s one thing you should know about me, it’s that there is a special place in my heart for puppies  long, romantic walks on the beach  Sex and the City reruns animal print, specifically when it makes an appearance on footwear, and especially when that footwear happens to be ankle boots. (Although now I’m questioning my collection of ankle boots after reading this. I swear I’m not aggressive?) These shoes were calling my name, assuming for a moment that my name is Esther. They even sparked a conversation between the flight attendants and a fellow passenger at the check-in counter at the airport, and if that isn’t a sign that you’re wearing killer shoes, I don’t know what is.

In other news, it’s definitely time for acid wash jeans to make a comeback. Anyone with me?

Standard

Leave a Reply

