Fashion musings, Life Interludes, Outfits

From Palms to Paris

standnew

IMG_5295        IMG_5298

IMG_5321new

Faced with the seemingly insurmountable task of fitting a month’s worth of provisions into one suitcase, all within the confines of the indubitable 50lb weight limit, I decided instead to apply the procrastinator’s motto: Why do today what can be done tomorrow?  [Editor’s note: It is now tomorrow, and my suitcase still has yet to see the light of day.] I then redirected my energy into more present efforts, namely, this outfit.

No, I didn’t go to Coachella, but that hasn’t stopped my outfits from slowly morphing into Coachella look-alikes. Never has a music festival been so relevant to personal style, specifically my own, and this year it seemed particularly pertinent. I would have given an arm and a fringed kimono to go and see the style alone. I’ve even started experimenting with putting jewelry on previously uncharted territory, in the form of upper arm cuffs and knuckle rings. Knuckles and biceps are just as deserving of metal- and jewel-encrusted love too, right?

jagpurse1
Recent find during a thrifting adventure. I still hold that Maine has the best thrifting/antique selection of
any place I’ve been.

These past few weeks have been eventful, to say the least. It’s been a period of old endings, new beginnings, and plenty of adventures, and with any luck, it looks like my next few months will be filled with the same. It’s been time to reconnect with the past, and, equally as important, reconnect with the present. My new year’s resolution this year was to have adventures, and it’s shaping up to be a year filled with them. Change is in the air and I’m not complaining. It’s spring, baby, and I’m alive.

Alt-J has been on repeat for a solid week now, and they’re rapidly becoming the main (well, and only) artist on my pre-summer playlist. Check out their song Taro with a s-s-sick video below:


And with that, I’m off to Paris for the month, though I may pop in for one last post before I leave. Although I foresee a photo diary of sorts upon my return, if you’re looking for more immediate gratification, follow me on Instagram @becckitt. Expect copious pictures of macarons.

Standard

One thought on “From Palms to Paris

Leave a Reply

